Okay, so I’ve just put a bunch of hot new links on to the sidebar which I got at the conference.

I got some great ones from a workshop on digital research. There are tons and tons of images out there being digitized by libraries and museums and being made available to the general public. I never thought too much about this since I don’t know how to read images, but I realized that it would be great for teaching.

Valancourt Books had a table at the book fair. They specialize in non-canonical and lesser known novels (especially “genre” fiction, like Gothic, mystery, the fantastic) in scholarly editions with intro, note on text, chronology, bibliography, and Broadview-style contextual appendices. Ouida and Corelli fans take note! Their covers are beautiful, based on original designs on first editions. Below is the cover from the copy of The Beetle which I purchased.

beetlexl 

Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition has digitized six 19th century newspapers, and made them available to all. Laurel Blake is involved with it, and she plugged it before her talk, which was stunningly informative. She’s really a wonderful scholar, and worth checking out even if periodical research online isn’t your cup of tea.

I mentioned At the Circulating Library yesterday. Troy Bassett is working on a database of as many Victorian novels as possible in order to research the kinds of questions Jonathan Sutherland raises.

If I feel up to it, I may post on some amazing commercial databases out there, which institutions like CUNY, and many much better funded institutions, do not subscribe to. But first, I’d like to rehash some of the talks, especially the last session on “New Directions in Victorian Studies” I went to, chaired by Tanya Agathocleous, to whom quite a few of us owe many thanks for her amazingly successful workshop on conference abstracts. But that’ll have to wait until after I get back to New York. But I’ll note now that one of the speakers, Andrew Stauffer, said that the interface for NINES will be vastly improved in about a month, or at least before MLA. (He observed that if anyone in the audience had been on NINES, they had probably been confused by the interface and then went away, to which I vigorously nodded.)

Just a side note: I’ve found this conference post mortem to be immensely useful for me in thinking concretely about what I’ve gotten out of attending NAVSA. If you attend a conference or some other scholarly event, I’d highly encourage you to do something similar.

